Thursday, July 08, 2004

I started praying a decade of the Rosary each night with my daughter on Saturday, beginning with the Joyful Mysteries, and noticed an interesting pattern...

  • Saturday: First Joyful Mystery (Annunciation)
  • Sunday: Second Joyful Mystery (Visitation)
  • Monday: Third Joyful Mystery (Nativity)
  • Tuesday: Fourth Joyful Mystery (Presentation)
  • Wednesday: Fifth Joyful Mystery (Finding in the Temple)
  • Thursday: First Luminous Mystery (Jesus's Baptism)
  • Friday: Second Luminous Mystery (Miracle at Canaa)
  • Saturday: Third Luminous Mystery (Proclamation of the Kingdom of God)
  • Sunday: Fourth Luminous Mystery (Transfiguration)
  • Monday: Fifth Luminous Mystery (Institution of the Eucharist
  • Tuesday: First Sorrowful Mystery (Agony in the Garden)
  • Wednesday: Second Sorrowful Mystery (Scourging at the Pillar)
  • Thursday: Third Sorrowful Mystery (Crowning with Thorns)
  • Friday: Fourth Sorrowful Mystery (Jesus carries His Cross)
  • Saturday: Fifth Sorrowful Mystery (Jesus dies on the Cross)
  • Sunday: First Glorious Mystery (Resurrection)
  • Monday: Second Glorious Mystery (Ascension)
  • Tuesday: Third Glorious Mystery (Pentecost)
  • Wednesday: Fourth Glorious Mystery (Assumption)
  • Thursday: Fifth Glorious Mystery (Coronation)

So, each set of Mysteries begins on on of "its" days, if prayed in chronological order. It breaks down after that, as Friday is a "Sorrowful" day. We'll have to figure out something else to pray on that day.

Pretty cool, huh?
Post a Comment